Advertisement

Microsoft’s Add to OneDrive feature is now generally available

Microsoft is rolling out 'Add to OneDrive', a new feature that allows adding shared folders to My Files on OneDrive. Using it, you can add folders and files shared with you via OneDrive, SharePoint, or Teams to a dedicated directory.

Instead of searching for shared content based on who shared it and how someone shared it with you, you can now access your shared files and folder directly from OneDrive. The created shortcuts appear in OneDrive for the web, Windows Explorer, Mac Finder, Microsoft Teams, and in mobile apps.

To add a file to OneDrive, all you have to do is select the files or folders you want and click the Add Shortcut to My Files icon at the top. This will create a shortcut to this file in the My Files section of OneDrive.

Add To Onedrive

The shortcuts will sync across your devices using the Files On-Demand feature. If someone made a change in a shared file, it will also be updated automatically.

Finally, sysadmins will be able to disable this new option for users in their company. The option to opt out of enabling this feature will be removed in the future.

Support us

Winaero greatly relies on your support. You can help the site keep bringing you interesting and useful content and software by using these options:

If you like this article, please share it using the buttons below. It won't take a lot from you, but it will help us grow. Thanks for your support!

Advertisment

Author: Sergey Tkachenko

Sergey Tkachenko is a software developer who started Winaero back in 2011. On this blog, Sergey is writing about everything connected to Microsoft, Windows and popular software. Follow him on Telegram, Twitter, and YouTube.

3 thoughts on “Microsoft’s Add to OneDrive feature is now generally available”

  1. Oh so this feature adds a shortcut in your OneDrive to files stored on someone else’s OneDrive? Have I understood right?

      1. But if the shared files are deleted by the sharer, will the ones added to your account also become inaccessible, i.e. it becomes a broken shortcut? I use Mega in which we can “Import to our account”. Even if sharer’s files get deleted by him or account suspended, the files we imported remain in our account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

css.php
Using Telegram? Subscribe to the blog channel!
Hello. Add your message here.