How to delete the browsing history in Internet Explorer 11

By default, Internet Explorer stores website addresses that you have visited in the past like all browsers. This is called the 'browsing history'. Depending on IE's AutoComplete settings, it may include web forms data you entered on various sites, passwords, cookies and local site preferences and the cache. However, if you need to share your Windows account with other users, you might want to clear the browsing history in Internet Explorer. Here's how to clear it.

  1. Open the Control Panel (see how)
  2. Open the Internet Options dialog. It can be opened via the Control Panel (Control Panel\Network and Internet\Internet Options): control panel internet options
    Note that these settings are also accessible via IE's menu bar: in Internet Explorer, press F10 on the keyboard to display the main menu, then choose Tools -> Internet Options.
  3. On the General tab, you can see the 'Delete... ' button under the 'Browsing history' section. Click it to delete the browsing history.
    delete history In the dialog that comes up, you can select which parts of the browsing history to delete.

Here's a bonus tip - you can use a keyboard shortcut to clear the browsing history directly. In Internet Explorer, press CTRL+ SHIFT + DEL keys together on your keyboard to display the 'Delete Browsing History' dialog:

delete browsing history

How to clear the IE's browsing history and cache automatically

Tip: Here's how to tweak your PC to ensure top performance for a specific type of task, be it gaming, document work or something else.

If you want IE's history to be cleared automatically, there are two settings you can check:

  • In Internet Options, on the General tab, check "Delete browsing history on exit".
  • In Internet Options, on the Advanced tab, check "Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed".

Driver Updater

3 thoughts on “How to delete the browsing history in Internet Explorer 11

  1. carlos

    That was useful, but the delete history can be undone?

    Reply
    1. Sergey Tkachenko Post author

      No, it cannot be undone

      Reply
  2. T FIllmore

    I am following these instructions exactly, unchecking all the boxes as I want a FULL clear, and the “DELETE” button is inactive–it won’t let me click it. I can only click “CANCEL”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.