Add Secure Delete Recycle Bin Context Menu in Windows 10

Windows has a special location called Recycle Bin where deleted files and folders are stored
temporarily, so the user has a choice to restore accidentally deleted stuff or remove it permanently. However, files delete from the Recycle Bin can be easily recovered. Windows only marks the file as deleted, but physically the files stay on the hard drive until they are overwritten by new data. Here's how to add a special 'Secure Delete' context menu entry to the Recycle Bin right-click menu to securely erase its contents.

Add Secure Delete Context Menu in Windows 10

When you delete files in Windows, they can be easily recovered. Windows only marks the file as deleted, but physically the files stay on the hard drive until they are overwritten by new data. Although on an SSD, they are harder to recover than hard drives because of TRIM and garbage collection done by the SSD controller, all of the deleted data is not securely wiped by default. If you deleted some sensitive data and want to be sure that it cannot be recovered before you give your PC away temporarily for whatever reason, here is how to add a special 'Secure Delete' context menu entry.