Disable Could Not Reconnect All Network Drives Notification In Windows 10

How To Disable Could Not Reconnect All Network Drives Notification In Windows 10

If you have mapped network drives, sometimes Windows 10 shows a notification that it cannot reconnect all network drives. It is OK when a remote destination is down, but the notification is very annoying and redundant when the drive can be reconnected just by visiting it in This PC.


Mapped drives are very convenient as they allow accessing network files and folders just like a regular local drive.

If a mapped network drive wasn't reconnected, any program that tries to access resources on the mapped network drive fails. Windows 10 displays the following notification:Could Not Reconnect All Network Drives Notification In Windows 10

When you create a mapped network drive, there is an option 'Reconnect at logon' which you can check so that every time Windows logs on, they are automatically mounted using the current user's logon credentials.
Map Network Drive Wizard Windows 10

If you check 'Connect using different credentials', then you can specify a different user name and password.

When Windows 10 logs on, there is a timing issue which causes it to attempt to map the network drives before the network is available. This results in them being unavailable sometimes. If you press Refresh (F5) in File Explorer or double click the drive, they instantly become available.

If you are fed up with the network drive notifications, here are the methods you can use to disable it.

To Disable Could Not Reconnect All Network Drives Notification in Windows 10,

  1. Open the Registry Editor app.
  2. Go to the following Registry key.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider

    See how to go to a Registry key with one click.
  3. On the right, modify or create a new 32-Bit DWORD value RestoreConnection.
    Note: Even if you are running 64-bit Windows you must still create a 32-bit DWORD value.Disable Couldnt Reconnect Mapped Drives In Windows 10
  4. Leave its value data as 0 to disable the notification message.
  5. To make the changes done by the Registry tweak take effect, restart Windows 10.

You are done. This will disable the annoying notification for all users. To save your time, you can use the following ready-to-use Registry files.

Download Registry Files

The undo tweak is included.

Also, you may want to make Windows 10 automatically reconnect the network drives which the OS failed to connect automatically. Here on Winaero, we have a hack that will allow you to do so without using third-party tools. Check out the following tutorial:

Windows 10 Does Not Reconnect Mapped Network Drives [Fix]

2 thoughts on “Disable Could Not Reconnect All Network Drives Notification In Windows 10

  1. Dave

    Fucking brilliant! I get that damned notification everytime I turn my PC on and the one in the living room isn’t on.

    The only reason I have a drive mapped is because my shared folders keep disconnecting (while both pc’s are on) and it takes a long time to reconnect to them. (The laptop running windows 7 never has this issue, shared folders always open instantly) Keeping one folder mapped reduces the amount of time to reconnect to the other pc’s shared folders and seems to keep them alive once they connect.

    Do you know how to fix that?

    All the following services are set as shown.

    Computer Browser (Browser) Automatic (Trigger Start)
    Function Discovery Provider Host (FDPHost) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    Function Discovery Resource Publication (FDResPub) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    Network Connections (NetMan) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    Peer Name Resolution Protocol (PNRPSvc) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    Peer Networking Grouping (P2PSvc) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    Peer Networking Identity Manager (P2PIMSvc) Automatic (Delayed Start)
    UPnP Device Host (UPnPHost) Automatic (Delayed Start)

    I have a seperate unique full account on the other Living Room PC that I share folders with from the main account on that pc. Then I access those folders using the matching username/pass from my main PC.

    Both PC’s have a limited accounts with matching username/pass to logon to with our mobile devices.

    Reply
  2. Florian

    Unfortunately, you forgot to mention the donside of this “fix”. After applying it, all my network drives mapped through a group policy were always displayed as “disconnected”, even if I loggod on while connected to the domain. Not only does this look strange to the common user, but also links to files or folders on these drives show an error message because the drive is disconnected. Furthermore, when you try to open a recent file e.g. in Word it is unavailable unless you clicked the drive in Explorer before so it is reconnected.
    So I guess in many cases it is easier to live with the warning message about disconnected drives than applying this fix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *