How to restore the uninstall confirmation prompt in Programs and Features

Starting with Windows Vista, Microsoft added a confirmation prompt when you uninstall software from Programs and Features Control Panel. This prompt can be bypassed if you have previously ticked the checkbox In the future, do not show me this dialog box.. Once you tick it, the confirmation dialog will be gone forever, because Windows does not offer you any way to restore the confirmation. In this article, we will look at a simple Registry tweak to restore the uninstall confirmation prompt in Programs and Features for Windows 10, Windows 8, Windows 7 and Windows Vista.

uninstall confirmation prompt Windows 10
To restore the uninstall confirmation prompt in Programs and Features, you need to do the following:

  1. Open Registry Editor.
  2. Go to the following Registry key:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\DontShowMeThisDialogAgain

    Tip: See how to jump to the desired Registry key with one click.

  3. In the right pane, delete the following string parameter: {948e51fb-0a48-44f0-86ac-33c36def540c}. It has the value NO. After you delete it, the uninstall confirmation prompt will be enabled again.

That's it. It is very strange why Microsoft has provided an option in the Windows GUI to re-enable the uninstall confirmation prompt in Programs and Features. So, the Registry is the only method available for the end user.

Support us

Winaero greatly relies on your support. You can help the site keep bringing you interesting and useful content and software by using these options:

If you like this article, please share it using the buttons below. It won't take a lot from you, but it will help us grow. Thanks for your support!

3 thoughts on “How to restore the uninstall confirmation prompt in Programs and Features

  1. MDJ

    It‘s the same with recycle bin prompts. At first, you wouldn‘t care for them and they would seem to be useful but after Windows 8 release you notice a difference just for a short period of time because those dialogs wasn‘t that much of use.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.