Tag Archives: disk cleanup

Microsoft is Ditching Classic Disk Cleanup in Windows 10

Microsoft is Ditching Classic Disk Cleanup in Windows 10

Microsoft today announced that they are removing the classic Disk Cleanup tool in favor of the Storage Sense feature. For users who track Windows 10 development, this is not a surprise, since Storage Sense completely replicates Disk Cleanup in recent Windows 10 builds.

Add Cleanup Drive Context Menu in Windows 10

Add Cleanup Drive Context Menu in Windows 10

You can add Cleanup to the context menu of drives in File Explorer on Windows 10. You will get Cleanup as a verb in the drive's right-click menu. This will save you time, since you won't need to open the drive's properties any more. Here is how.

Fix Disk Cleanup is missing in Drive Properties in Windows 10

Fix Disk Cleanup is missing in Drive Properties in Windows 10

If you open the Disk Properties dialog in Windows 10, you might find that the "Disk Cleanup" button is missing on the General tab. In this article, I will explain why it disappears and how to restore it back to where it was originally.

Free up about several GBs of disk space after installing Office 2016

Free up about several GBs of disk space after installing Office 2016

Microsoft has released Microsoft Office 2016 a few days ago. It uses App-V/Click To Run technology. After installing it, many users faced the issue that free disk space is reduced by a huge amount. If you are affected by the same problem and would like get the disk space back, follow the instructions in this article. We will see how to free up disk space after installing Office 2016 Click To Run (CTR).

Get free disk space back after upgrading to Windows 10

Get free disk space back after upgrading to Windows 10

If you installed Windows 10 over a previous Windows version like Windows 8 or Windows 7, you might have noticed that free disk space on your disk drive was considerably reduced. This is nothing new. For modern versions of Windows it is the default behavior. When you do an in-place upgrade from a previous version of Windows, setup saves a lot of files from the earlier installed OS during the upgrade and fills your hard drive with files that you might never need again if your upgrade is successful. The reason setup saves these files is so that if something goes wrong during setup, it can safely rollback to the earlier version of Windows. However, if your upgrade was successful and you've got everything working perfectly, then there's no need to keep these files. You can reclaim all the wasted disk space by following these simple instructions.

Windows 10 adds system compression to Disk cleanup

Windows 10 adds system compression to Disk cleanup

Disk Cleanup is an essential Windows system tool which allows you to delete various unnecessary files created by the OS to save space on your disk drive. By default, it works in a simpler mode which allows you to delete only the files related to your current user account. You can switch it to the extended mode, which allows you to delete more unused files such as the ones used by Windows Updates, or service packs and so on. In Windows 10, the extended mode was updated to add one more feature. Now it provides a System compression option. Let's explore what it is about.

How to delete Windows.old folder after upgrading from a previous version of Windows

How to delete Windows.old folder after upgrading from a previous version of Windows

If you choose to install Windows on the same drive where an existing installation is already present, the setup program creates a folder named Windows.old in the root of the drive. This folder is used to store a full backup of the previously installed OS, including the boot manager and installed apps. This is very handy if you plan to uninstall the currently installed Windows version and return to the previously installed release. It can also be handy if you forgot to transfer some files or settings to the new installation. However, if you are already finished with the migration, then Windows.old just wastes your disk space for no reason. Here is how you can delete it and why it is better to use the built-in OS tools.