In Windows 10, when the user is deleting a file or a folder, there is no confirmation prompt appearing on the screen. Instead, the File Explorer app directly sends the selected objects to the Recycle Bin. If you are not happy with this behavior, you can change it. Here is how it can be done.
Some users (including me) like the default behavior. I prefer my files to be deleted as fast as possible. I do not want to see any confirmation dialog because even if I delete something accidentally, I can always open my Recycle Bin folder and restore my files. Usually I delete a lot of files like temporary app projects, Registry files, text files with notes and so on, so confirmations annoy me.
Other users prefer to see a confirmation. They consider it a safe option, because the Delete key can be pressed inadvertently. Sometimes, inexperienced users may never even realize that an item was deleted or more than 1 item was accidentally deleted.
While the delete confirmation prompt is disabled by default, you can quickly restore it.
To enable the delete confirmation in Windows 10, do the following.
Find the Recycle Bin icon in File Explorer. Usually, it is located right on your Desktop, so it is not a big problem to find it.
Right-click on the Recycle Bin and select Properties in the context menu to open the Recycle Bin Properties window.
On the General tab, see the option Display delete confirmation dialog. Tick the checkbox and then click on the Apply button to make the changes take effect.
This will make Windows 10 display the confirmation dialog when you are deleting a file or a folder with File Explorer.
Winaero greatly relies on your support. You can help the site keep bringing you interesting and useful content and software by using these options: