How to Disable or Enable OneDrive Deleted files are removed everywhere dialog reminder in Windows 10. It appears when you delete OneDrive files on your PC that are already synced to the online OneDrive storage and across your devices.
OneDrive is the online document storage solution created by Microsoft which comes bundled as a free service with Windows 10. You can use it store your documents and other data online in the cloud. It also offers synchronization of stored data across all your devices.
When you have OneDrive installed and running in Windows 10, it adds a Move to OneDrive context menu command available for files under certain locations included in your user profile like Desktop, Documents, Downloads, etc. Also, OneDrive has the "Files on-demand" feature that can display placeholder versions of online files in your local OneDrive directory even if they were not synchronized and downloaded. Finally, for the files you store in the OneDrive folder you can use the file history feature.
OneDrive delete file reminder dialog
Once you try to delete a file that has been synced with the online OneDrive folder on your device, OneDrive will show a notification reminder with the "Deleted files are removed everywhere" text. It also tells that files you delete from your OneDrive are no longer available across your devices or on the web. You can restore those files from your online OneDrive recycle bin within the next 30 days.
This post will show you how to disable the OneDrive 'Deleted files are removed everywhere' notification dialog or re-enable it later in Windows 10. While disabling it is very easy, to get it back you will need to apply a Registry tweak.
Disable OneDrive Deleted files are removed everywhere dialog
- Delete some file on OneDrive that is already synced between devices.
- Check the Don't show this reminder again box in the dialog.
- Click on the Got it button.
- You are done.
Alternatively, you can enable or disable this removal reminder in the Registry. Also, the Registry editing is the only way to bring the reminder back if you have disabled it.
Enable or Disable the Deleted files are removed everywhere reminder in Registry
- Open the Registry Editor.
- Navigate to the following key:
- In the right pane, modify or create a new 32-bit DWORD value
- Set its value data to 0 to Enable the deleted files reminder.
- A value data of 1 disables the reminder.
You are done.
Keep in mind that even if you are running 64-bit Windows you must still create a 32-bit DWORD value.
To save your time, you can download these ready-to-use Registry files:
The ZIP archive comes with two files.
- Disable OneDrive Deleted files are removed everywhere.reg - apply this file to turn off the reminder.
- Enable OneDrive Deleted files are removed everywhere.reg - this file will restore the reminder on demand.
Winaero greatly relies on your support. You can help the site keep bringing you interesting and useful content and software by using these options: