Tag Archives: Windows 10 upgrade

Microsoft continues to push Windows 10 aggressively

Microsoft continues to push Windows 10 aggressively

It looks like Microsoft is desperate to push Windows 10 on every device on the market. It has come to be known that for those of you who have Automatic Updates enabled, the upgrade offer now directly shows them that Windows 10 is ready to install. In a way, it sneakily forces Windows 7 and Windows 8 users to install Windows 10 without the ability to cancel the upgrade. Not only is it already downloaded, but the upgrade prompt is shown straightaway without explicit action from the user.

How to prevent Windows 10 from installing a new build automatically

How to prevent Windows 10 from installing a new build automatically

As you might be knowing, Windows 10 Technical Preview updates itself automatically. It has Slow Ring and Fast Ring update settings which define how often you receive a new build via Windows Update. Once a new build becomes available for your update ring in Windows 10, it will be installed automatically. If you wish to stay with a particular build and prevent Windows 10 from installing the new build, I would like to share a simple tip which will help you remain on the current build you have installed.

Get free disk space back after upgrading to Windows 10

Get free disk space back after upgrading to Windows 10

If you installed Windows 10 over a previous Windows version like Windows 8 or Windows 7, you might have noticed that free disk space on your disk drive was considerably reduced. This is nothing new. For modern versions of Windows it is the default behavior. When you do an in-place upgrade from a previous version of Windows, setup saves a lot of files from the earlier installed OS during the upgrade and fills your hard drive with files that you might never need again if your upgrade is successful. The reason setup saves these files is so that if something goes wrong during setup, it can safely rollback to the earlier version of Windows. However, if your upgrade was successful and you've got everything working perfectly, then there's no need to keep these files. You can reclaim all the wasted disk space by following these simple instructions.